skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content

AIDS Drug Assistance Program (ADAP)

Florida Department of Health in Manatee County

AIDS Drug Assistance Programs (ADAP)

ADAPs provide HIV/AIDS related prescription drugs to uninsured and underinsured individuals living with HIV/AIDS. ADAPs operate in 56 jurisdictions including all 50 states. ADAPs began serving clients in 1987, when Congress first appropriated funds to help states purchase AZT. In 1990 ADAP was incorporated under Title II of the newly enacted Ryan White Comprehensive AIDS Resources Emergency Act. ADAPs are not entitlement programs, federal and state appropriations determine how many clients ADAP can help.

The high cost of combination therapy $10,000.00 to $12,000.00 annually, has placed pressure on ADAPs to adopt a wide variety of cost-containment strategies to maximize resources. Despite significant growth in the national ADAP budget, several states face access limitations.

  • In February 2003 16 states reported having one or more program restrictions.
  • Nine of these states had waiting lists.
  • Four ADAPs reported they anticipated the need to implement new restrictions in FY 2003, including three that already had at least one restriction.

ADAP is intended to help HIV positive people stay healthy by assisting with the purchase of HIV prescription medications.

To be enrolled in ADAP you must:

  • Have proof of being HIV positive
  • Have less than $25,000.00 in assets, excluding a home and car
  • Have a current CD4 and Viral Load test
  • Have a prescription for drugs on the ADAP formulary
  • Have an income less than 350% of the Federal Poverty Level (around $31,430.00 for a household of one)

Who is not eligible?

  • Persons in institutional care
  • Persons with health insurance that covers pharmaceuticals or Medicaid
  • Persons with an income above 350% of the Federal Poverty Level
  • Persons with assets over $25,000.00 excluding home and car

To enroll, call or visit your local County Health Department and speak with someone in the HIV department.

At the time of your enrollment you will need to have in hand:

  • Your HIV positive documentation
  • Prescriptions from a Florida licensed doctor
  • Current (less than 4 months old) Viral Load and CD4 count
  • Proof of monthly income
  • Documentation of insurance available through an employer
  • Asset information
  • Proof of Medicaid application

It doesn’t matter who you are. What matters is how you act.

There aren’t any AIDS risk groups - only AIDS risk behaviors!