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TATTOO ESTABLISHMENT and 
TATTOO ARTIST 

Licensing Procedure 
 
ESTABLISHMENT OWNER/OPERATOR: 

1. Complete form DH4151 “Application for Tattoo Establishment”. You will find one following 
this page in your licensing packet. Be sure to complete all blanks. Should you have any 
questions please call our office for assistance. 

2. To apply for a license, you must include a check made out to the “Department of Health 
– Manatee County” in the amount of $200.00. 

3. Mail the completed application and appropriate documentation to our mailing address: 
410 6th Ave E, Bradenton, FL 34208. 

4. Review the Florida Administrative Code and the Florida Statute on tattooing, and begin 
ensuring your establishment will meet these requirements. They are available online: 
http://www.myfloridaeh.com/community/Tattoo/index.html 

5. The key components of a Tattooing Establishment inspection are: Cleanable Floors, Walls 
and Ceilings, Unobstructed Handwashing sink(s), Restrooms, Lighting, Autoclave 
Records, Approved Sanitizers and Antiseptics, Employee Records and Customer 
Records. Tattooing procedure areas and set ups will also be reviewed. Please note that 
the attached Consent form for Minors is REQUIRED to be used for ANY piercing of a 
person 16- 18 years of age. Tattooing is not permitted on a person under 16. 

6. NOTE:  Compliance with the Biomedical Waste code and permitting requirements are a 
pre-requisite to receiving your Tattooing Establishment license. 

7. Opening inspections are done by appointment and the receipt of the application will begin 
the process. The best time to call our office for assistance or to confirm appointments is 
generally 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M., Monday through Friday. 

 
ARTIST: 

1. Complete form DH4147 “Application for Tattoo Artist License”. You will find one following 
this page in your licensing packet. Be sure to complete all blanks. Should you have any 
questions please call our office for assistance. Required with the application:  
• Government issued identification confirming at least 18 years of age (submit for initial license only, not renewal).  
• Proof of completion of department approved course on blood-borne pathogens and communicable diseases (submit 

for initial license only, not renewal). Training Info:  
http://www.myfloridaeh.com/community/Tattoo/TattooCourse.html  

• Proof of having achieved a minimum score of at least 70% on the course examination (submit for initial license only, 
not renewal).  

2. To apply for a license, you must include a check made out to the “Department of Health 
– Manatee County” in the amount of $60.00. 

3. Mail the completed application and appropriate documentation to our mailing address: 
410 6th Ave E, Bradenton, FL 34208. 

4. Each tattoo artist residing in Manatee County is required to be licensed. Each artist must 
be affiliated with a permitted Tattoo Establishment. The Tattoo Establishment does not 
need to be in the county where the artist resides. 

 
Provided by Tattooing Program - Florida Dept. of Health Manatee County Health Dept 



 

 
 

64E-28, Florida Administrative Code  
Tattooing Records Requirements 

Checklist 
 
 

CUSTOMER RECORDS: 
 

 Maintained for 2 years 
 Customer’s name, age and DOB 
 Tattoo artist name 
 Description and location of tattoo 
 Signature of customer and tattoo artist 

 
 
EMPLOYEE RECORDS: 
 

 Maintained for 2 years 
 Artist name and license number 
 Copy of government-issued photo ID 

 
Autoclave (is used): 

 Log is required – must detail: 
 Annual Maintenance (required annually) 
 Cleaning Schedule (required at least annually) 
 Spore Testing (required at least every 40 hours of use or quarterly) 
 Chemical Sterilization Strip (required EACH LOAD) 

 
NOTE: When you go to special or temporary events, and you used self-
autoclaved equipment, bring your autoclave records with you!  
 



 

 
AUTOCLAVE LOG 

Use of this form is voluntary and not required by the Department of Health. The form is provided as a 
service to assist salons in complying with the record-keeping requirements of Chapter 64E-28, FAC. 
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• There must be a sterilization indicator in each autoclaving to monitor the sterilization procedure. The 
indicator must indicate exposure to steam and 250 degrees Fahrenheit. 
• Spore tests must be performed every 40 hours of autoclave operation, but not less than quarterly. 
• Spore tests must be verified through an independent laboratory. 
• The autoclave must be cleaned at the frequency recommended by the manufacturer. 
• The autoclave must be serviced at the frequency recommended by the manufacturer, but not less 
than once a year. 
• A copy of the manufacturer’s instructions for cleaning and servicing the autoclave must be kept on file 
in the establishment. 
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STATE OF FLORIDA 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Authority 381.00789, Florida Statutes 
WRITTEN NOTARIZED CONSENT FOR TATTOOING OF A MINOR CHILD, 

AGE 16 THROUGH 17 YEARS OLD 
 

State of Florida     } 
County of       }  Ss: 
 
              
(Print Name of Parent or Legal Guardian) 

Residing at:                                                                                                                                       
  

HEREBY SWEARS OR AFFIRMS UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY, that the 
following facts as stated in this document are true: 
 
1)  I am the natural parent or legal guardian of:                                                                             
       (Print Name of Minor Child) 
 
2)  The Minor Child’s date of birth is:           
           (Month)                        (Day)                               (Year) 
3)  The child’s age is:                               .   
 
4)  I have the legal authority to give consent for this child’s Tattoo. 
 
5)  I consent to the tattooing of my child as follows:  (description & location of Tattoo) 

              

             

              

       
        
(Signature of Parent/Legal Guardian) 

 
SWORN TO, OR AFFIRMED, IN PERSON BEFORE ME, this   day of  

 
    , 20 , by           
          (Print Name) 
 
who is personally known to me, or, who produced satisfactory identification in the form of   
 
              
 
 
       Seal: 
 (Signature of Notary) 
 
      
 (Print Name of Notary) 

For Office Use Only 
 

(Printed Name of Licensed Salon) 

 

(Signature of Tattoo Artist) 

 

(Printed Name of Tattoo Artist) 



         TATTOO EMPLOYEE RECORD 
(Please PRINT all information IN INK) 

Use of this form is voluntary and not required by the Department of Health.  The form is 
provided as a service to assist salons in complying with the record-keeping requirements 

of Chapter 64E-28, FAC. 
 

 
 
Name:__________________________________________________________________ 
                          (Last)                                (First)                                    (Middle) 
 
Home Address:___________________________________________________________ 
 
City, State, Zip:___________________________________________________________ 
 
Home Telephone Number: __________________________________________________ 
 
Date of Birth:_________________________________ Sex: _______________________ 
 
Date of Hire:_____________________________________________________________ 
 
Tatttoo Artist License #::_________________________________________________ 
 (copy included)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
• Piercer/operator records must be kept for at least two (2) years after a person’s 

employment ends.  



  
     TATTOO CUSTOMER RECORD 

(Please PRINT all information IN INK) 
Use of this form is voluntary and not required by the Department of Health.  The form is 
provided as a service to assist facilities in complying with the record-keeping requirements 

of Chapter 64E-28, FAC. 
 
 

 
Name:__________________________________________________________________ 
                                (Last)                                       (First)                                         (Middle) 
Address:________________________________________________________________ 
 
City, State, Zip:___________________________________________________________ 
 
Telephone Number:_______________________________________________________ 
 
Date of Birth:_______________________ Age:______(Copy of Gov't. Photo ID attached)
 
Date of Visit: _________________________ 
 
Description and location of tattoo on the customer’s body:
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Prior to my tattoo, I received information about the following and discussed it with 
my tattoo artist or the establishment operator:  1)  A brief description of the tattoo procedure; 
2)  Any precautions for me to take before my tattoo; 3)  A description of the risks and possible 
consequences of tattooing services; 4)  Instructions for care and restrictions following my
tattoo.  
 
Customer Signature & Date: ________________________________________________ 
 
Tattoo Artist Signature & Date: ______________________________________________ 
 
Tattoo Artist Name:_______________________________________________________ 
 
List any allergies you have, including allergies to medications, and allergies to any 
topical solutions used by this tatooing establishment: _________________________ 
 
 
Do you have a history of bleeding disorders?___________________________________ 
 
 
• The establishment must obtain a written notarized consent statement before tattooing a minor between 

the ages of 16 and 18. DH Form 4146 MUST be used. 
• All customer records must be kept for at least two (2) years. 
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                                        STATE OF FLORIDA 
                               DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Authority 381.00789, Florida Statutes 

Application for Tattoo Establishment Licensure 
 

Instructions: Do not leave any item blank.  Enter NA for non-applicable items.  Submit the completed application 
and the fee(s) specified below to the county health department that has jurisdiction for the tattooing program in the 
county where the establishment is physically located.  To select the county, type the following link into an Internet 
browser:  http://www.myfloridaeh.com/community/biomedical/county_coordinators.htm 
 

Fees:  Initial Licensure of a Tattoo Establishment or Temporary Tattoo Establishment:  $200.00 
     Renewal Licensure of a Tattoo Establishment:  $200.00 
           Reactivation Fee for Renewal of a Tattoo Establishment License after Date of Expiration:  $75.00 
       
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
              
              
              
  
 
 
 

DH use only: Check No.   Check Amount    

Date Received     Receipt No.    

Facility Permit No.     Date Issued    

Amended Application Only   Date Received    

Type of Establishment:  _____ Fixed Location    
    
   _____ Temporary Location     If Checked, Specify Event Date(s):  From _____   To _____ 
 
Type of Tattooing:  _____ Conventional    _____ Cosmetic    _____ Educational 
 
Business Name of Establishment:  __________________________________________________________________ 
       (Registered or Fictitious)       (Applicant must be a legal entity, i.e.: individual, partnership, corporation, association, or public body) 

 

Physical Address of Establishment:  _________________________________________________________________ 
     Street     City    State      Zip Code 
 

Mailing Address if Different:  _______________________________________________________________________ 
           P.O. Box or Street    City    State      Zip Code 
 

Telephone Number of Establishment:  (       )__________________  Name of Operator:  ________________________ 
 
E-mail Address of Establishment or Operator (optional): ______________________________@__________________ 
 
Name of Establishment Owner:  ____________________________________________________________________ 
           
Mailing Address of Establishment Owner:  ____________________________________________________________ 
                       P.O. Box or Street   City   State      Zip Code 

 

Phone Number of Establishment Owner:  (____)___________________ 
 
Name of Registered Agent for Service of Process (if applicable):  __________________________________________ 
 
Mailing Address of Registered Agent:  ______________________________________________________________________ 
      P.O. Box or Street      City   State      Zip Code 

 

The undersigned Applicant /Representative hereby agrees to operate the tattoo establishment described in this 
application in accordance with the requirements of Section 381.00771-381.00791, Florida Statutes, and Chapter 64E-
28, F.A.C. The information contained in this application, which serves as a basis for licensure, is true and correct. I 
understand that any misrepresentation of the facts in this application, or failure to comply with sanitary standards, is 
grounds for denial, administrative fine or revocation of the tattoo license.  Further, I understand that obtaining or 
attempt to obtain a license or registration by means of fraud, misrepresentation, or concealment is committing a 
misdemeanor of the second degree punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. 
 
 
___________________________________________________________         _____________________________ 
        Name of Applicant/ Representative (print or type)                   Date 
 
 

___________________________________________________________ 
Signature of Licensee/ Representative 

 
 Signature of Applicant/ Representative 
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STATE OF FLORIDA 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Authority 381.00775, Florida Statutes  
Application for Tattoo Artist License 

 
 

Instructions: Do not leave any item blank.  Enter “NA” for non-applicable items.  For initial license and license renewal, submit 
the completed application to the county health department that has jurisdiction for the tattooing program in the county where the 
applicant lives.  To select the county, type the following link into Internet browser:  
http://www.myfloridaeh.com/community/biomedical/county_coordinators.htm.  This application must be accompanied by the 
following: 

 Fee of $60.00 (submit every year). 
 Reactivation fee of $25.00 for renewal of license after date of expiration. 
 A copy of a government-issued photo identification confirming at least 18 years of age (submit for initial registration 

only, not renewal).  
 A copy of the certificate of training proving completion of a department approved course on blood-borne pathogens and 

communicable diseases with having achieved a minimum score of at least 70% on the course examination (submit for 
initial application only, not renewal). 

 
 

DH use only: Check No.   Check Amount    

Date Received     Receipt No.    

Facility Permit No.     Date Issued    

Amended Application Only   Date Received    

Type of License:   ____ Initial ____ Renewal    
 
Name of Applicant: ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Physical Address of Applicant: ______________________________________________________________________ 
     Street          City                  State       Zip Code 
 
Mailing Address if Different: ________________________________________________________________________ 
     P.O. Box or Street            City                   State       Zip Code 
 
Phone Number: _(____)__________________    E-mail Address: _____________________________@___________________ 
 
Provide the following information for each tattoo establishment or temporary tattoo establishment where the applicant will perform 
tattooing or intends to perform tattooing: 
              
 
        1.  ___________________________________________________________________________________________         
  Name of Licensed Establishment    Department of Health License Number 
 
        2.  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Name of Licensed Establishment    Department of Health License Number 
 
        3.  ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Name of Licensed Establishment    Department of Health License Number 
 
The undersigned Applicant hereby agrees to practice tattooing in compliance with ss. 381.00771-381.00791, F.S., and Chapter 
64E-28, F.A.C., and exclusively at an establishment licensed under ss. 381.00771-381.00791, F.S., and  
Chapter 64E-28, F.A.C. The information contained in this application, which serves as a basis for licensure, is true and correct. I 
understand that any misrepresentation of the facts in this application, or failure to comply with sanitary standards, is grounds for 
denial, administrative fine and/ or revocation of the tattoo license.  Further, I understand that obtaining or attempting to obtain a 
license or registration by means of fraud, misrepresentation, or concealment is committing a misdemeanor of the second degree 
punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. 
 
 
_______________________________________________________  ___________________________ 
 Name of Applicant (print or type)               Date 
 
 
_______________________________________________________ 
  Signature of Applicant  




